List of Hague Convention Countries

On the date of 5th October 1961, this group was formed and they made a law to legalize foreign documents. The main purpose of this law was to ensure that no one can go to overseas countries using fake documents.

For example, if you are working in an overseas country and want to take your family on a dependent visa then the authorities of that country won’t know if the marriage certificate is original or not. They don't even know if you are genuinely calling your wife on a dependent visa.

Because of these reasons, a law has been created so that you need to complete an apostille procedure marriage certificate from the home country where the document was originally issued.

So that the authorities of the foreign country can determine that the marriage certificate is original and not the wrong person is going to come on a family visa.

Most Indian people prefer to go to countries like France, Poland, Italy, Austria, Netherland, Germany, Oman, Philippines, Portugal, and Belgium based on work visas and student visas.

Even if you are going to the other countries that are part of the Hague convention countries. Here you can see the list of Hague convention countries and this information is for your general knowledge.


List of Hague Convention Countries

Albania Andorra Argentina Armenia Australia
Austria Azerbaijan Belarus Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina
Brazil Bulgaria Burkina Faso Canada Chile
China Costa Rica Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic
Denmark Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador
Estonia European Union Finland France Georgia
Germany Greece Honduras Hungary Iceland
India Ireland Israel Italy Japan
Jordan Kazakhstan Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg
Malaysia Malta Mauritius Mexico Monaco
Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Namibia Netherlands
New Zealand Nicaragua North Macedonia Panama Paraguay
Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Republic of Korea
Republic of Moldova Romania Russian Federation Saudi Arabia Serbia
Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa Spain
Sri Lanka Suriname Sweden Switzerland Thailand
Tunisia Turkiye Ukraine United Kingdom USA
Uruguay Uzbekistan Venezuela Viet Nam Zambia